top of page

Why I Write - In Sequence

Every week, I blog about my writing--why I write certain ways, genres, themes, subjects, etc. If you've missed any, you can find them here. And if you have a suggestion for what I should blog about my writing next, contact me. I love to hear from you :)

I'm an author who has to write in sequence, meaning I write the beginning, the middle, and the end all in the order they happen. I mostly do this because I don't outline (this will be a future blog!), so I have no idea what's going to happen to my characters next. If I were to write a scene toward the end, I may not be able to connect the beginning to it. So I write in the order the events occur.

This also means I write books in order too. I start with book one, and even if book four is talking to me, it has to wait. Otherwise, I'll have to do too much editing on books one, two, and three to make them all work. I guess that's not a given, but I'd rather not take the chance on that. Editing is my least favorite thing to do.

Actually, everything except write the actual book is my least favorite thing to do, but I also write stories in sequence so I don't have to worry about editing too much. If I tell the story in order, everything is fairly fresh in my mind. I don't have to work that hard to remember when things happened or in what order. The story flows much more easily, and I take notes on the scenes that I think I might occur later on down the road. Then, if they actually make sense by that point, I can write them with the past in mind. It's just a whole lot easier for me.

Though it does make it tough when I'm not really hearing the next part of the story. Even if I feel like I know what will happen after the part I'm stuck on, I won't go write it. I'll write notes, but I won't write words that'll show up in the novel. I don't like wasting time, so I don't want to write things that won't end up in my books. I do other things until that next part speaks to me. Which maybe makes my writing process take a little longer, but that's okay. I enjoy what I'm doing, so it's all good.

What about you? Do you write in order? Are you a reader who skips ahead to the end of the book? Tell me in the comments below! :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Tumblr Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page