top of page

Why I Write - In Dual POV

Every week, I blog about my writing--why I write certain ways, genres, themes, subjects, etc. If you've missed any, you can find them here. And if you have a suggestion for what I should blog about my writing next, contact me. I love to hear from you :)

Dual POV is important to me because the reader gets to hear both sides of the story. They get to see how both characters are thinking and feeling, why they’re reacting the way the are, their motivations, fears, and goals from the source. The reader gets way more information, and though I write and love single POV as well, I think this provides a better balance in storytelling.

A book told in dual POV has a little more depth, a little more freedom, and a little less restriction. There’s no worry about whether or not to put the characters into a certain scene together to get the point across because the characters can tell their stories themselves. I can add scenes with characters separately, and that means the reader gets so much more in depth with the characters. It’s a layer I like to add to my books.

But there’s also the challenge of feeling fair and balanced. I like seeing the page time be equal between the two characters, so that adds an element of difficulty to writing. And I’m usually up for a challenge. So it makes it even more frustratingly fun for me to write stories this way. Yet, in the end, I’m usually glad I’ve told the story this way. I love stepping into the shoes of both characters and thoroughly exploring their stories. It’s so much fun for me.

What about you? Why do you read and/or write dual POV? Or do you prefer single? Let me know in the comments!

Kyle Autumn signature

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Tumblr Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page