top of page

Why I Write - In First Person

Every week, I blog about my writing--why I write certain ways, genres, themes, subjects, etc. If you've missed any, you can find them here. And if you have a suggestion for what I should blog about my writing next, contact me. I love to hear from you :)

When I read, I prefer books told in first person. It makes me feel as though I'm actually the character. Like I'm the one going through the trials and emotions of the story. So, when I started writing, I naturally gravitated toward first person. That POV may give me less options and more limitation as a writer, but it's the one I enjoy the most as a reader. I feel way more capable of showing instead of telling when I'm able to give the reader the first-person point of view. That's not to say that it can't be done in second or third person. It absolutely can. And perhaps I'll explore that option at a later date. For now, it's all first person for me.

It's how I think in terms of my characters. When I write, I become my characters, in a sense. They're in my head, so they're somehow a part of me. Which means, when their story comes out, it's like I'm telling it about myself. Using "I" is a natural part of that, and I hope the reader sinks right into my stories as if they're about them while they're reading them. That's how they come out of me, and because I know I won't please everyone, I write what I love: in first person.

So I haven't had much experience with telling a story in third person. I've written in second person before, and it was definitely not my favorite, but I won't totally close the door on it. Third person is absolutely a possibility in the future, and I know that it's preferred in some genres. Romance accepts it for sure, so I could try it in the near future and run with it. But, for now, expect first-person POV from me and my work. It's what I'm used to writing, it's what I love to read, and it's what I love to write.

What POV do you prefer? First? Second? Third? Sound off here! Whether it's reading or writing, I want to hear from you and chat. My second favorite thing (next to writing stories) is talking about stories. So I'll see you in the comments!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Tumblr Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page